Make my Burrito: A Treatise on Abdicating my Assembling Responsibilities

burrito 007

Lately, I have become somewhat addicted to burritos. I think I have had one at least once a week for the past two months.

The problem, though some might see it as an advantage, is that you have to instruct the staff on how to make it. While I am good at this at Harvey’s and Subway, I am less confident at a burrito place.  Maybe it has something to do with the difference in ingredients.  I am not saying they are particularly exotic–but I don’t come across them every day.

In a previous post, I might have explained that I usually have a hard time deciding on restaurant meals. I can usually get it down to a couple of choice, but then get a bit stuck.  Thanks to a book on making decisions, I usually ask the waitress/waiter for a recommendation.  Generally this has worked pretty well for me and letting go of this responsibility has been quite liberating.

As a result, I have been employing the same technique to my burrito. When the ask me what I want, I specify the meat (chicken) the tortilla (whole wheat) and brown rice.  After that, I tell them to make the best burrito they can.

Sometimes, like tonight, it throws the staff a little bit. They wonder if I am serious.  I am deadly serious.

Last week, at a different place….an international franchise with a slightly scandalous past, the staff were quite interested in what I was doing. He was surprised, but he was quite amused by the challenge.  He boasted that if I didn’t like what he assembled it would be free.  His co-workers were rather surprised by this.  Perhaps worried is a better word.  They might have assumed I would say I didn’t like it just to get a free meal.  Nothing could be farther than the truth.  Even if it had been bad, I wouldn’t have demanded my money back.  I abdicated my responsibility of assembling it.  I was also looking to be introduced to someone else’s idea of a good meal.  As it turned out, it was awesome.  I mean, the person works there, and probably eats there all the time.  How could it be other wise.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in adapting, adventure, adversity, advice, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beverages, burrito, cherry coke, choice, choosing, decisions, eating, ethnic food, food, restaurant, risks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Make my Burrito: A Treatise on Abdicating my Assembling Responsibilities

  1. I love this idea. I am a foodie and get overwhelmed by the options sometimes. I have to size the person up before I get their recommended dinner. Do they like food as much as I do? Do they have unusual food habits? Do their eyes light up when describing it? I have to trust the person advising me first. I’ve been disappointed a lot if I follow without proper vetting.

    • Anthony says:

      I love that phrase–proper vetting. You’re probably right. At a better restaurant, I would probably need to grade the servers answers–but at a burrito place…it is probably less necessary.
      What has been your most recent food adventure? What was the best thing you ate last week?
      I would love to hear about your favourite food.

      • I have started cooking again. I made food for our family reunion. Chicken tacos with black bean and corn, Spanish rice from scratch, and black beans. I made Bbq chicken sliders and a green salad with green apples and dried cranberries and homemade dressing. I loved eating fresh seafood while I was home and had amazing wild caught halibut fish and chips. I’ve also been eating copious amounts of expensive, premium cream. I justify by all the miles I’m running for my marathon training.

      • Anthony says:

        That all sounds awesome. I wasn’t hungry (and it is 2 in the morning) but suddenly I am hungry–btw, did you mean ice cream or just cream?

      • Ice cream.. The dense, delicious expensive stuff. I like to savor spoonfuls straight from the pint.

      • Anthony says:

        That sounds awesome too….and something I also do.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    That’s a pretty neat idea.

  3. Sarah Warsi says:

    Hi Anthony, I’ve posted about my award. Please check it out when you get a chance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

