Without Drawers, But With A View

windowview 001.jpg

I don’t have a desk at work. I have a kind of table…more like a cantilevered slab of leftover countertop really.  I shouldn’t complain because some teachers, especially new ones and temporary summer ones (often one in the same) don’t have anything and they are running around looking for stuff.

I get a bit bummed out at not having a desk, mostly because I would like some drawers and some files….and place to leave some gum.

The only job in which I had a desk was as a shipper and receiver at a warehouse in my late teens. I hardly used the desk and I preferred to use the packing table more than anything else.  Still, I had a desk.  It also had a phone on it, I seem to recall.

While I may pine for a set of drawers to house my gum, paperclips and the evil red marking pen, I am among the very few to have a view. It is a view of homes, all of which are valued at more than a million dollars in the very hot Toronto Housing Market.  The yards are deep and the amount of trees is pretty fantastic for something in the city within walking distance to the subway.

windowview 003.jpg

I just thought I would share my view today. The sky was grey at times (as in this picture) but as it hadn’t rained for a long time, this was not a bad moment.  Not perfect, but not bad at all.

**** I had a bit of trouble coming up with a name for this post.  I would love your suggestions.  I probably won’t change it, but it might help me the next time I go looking for a title.

Other options: A desk with a view (good reference to a Room with a View, but way more literal than literary)

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, ESL, million dollar homes, office furniture, scenery, Toronto Real Estate, view, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Without Drawers, But With A View

  1. I actually really like the name….it is interesting and drew me in to read the post. After reading the post, I thought it was very fitting.

    Another lovely post – thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

