An Almost Transparent Fog

August sunrise 2016 002

There’s a woman I often see jogging past my bus stop in the early morning as I make my dreary half asleep sluggish body towards what will eventually be work. She usually looks quite resplendent in her yellow/high visibility high tech jogging gear.  I have seen her for years and either nodded or verbally uttered a hello–but who can tell at that time in the morning.

For the past year or so, she has been jogging with her dog. This seems pretty cool because she has companionship and the dog has the chance to put out some speed.  If it weren’t for the jogging, I would think that would be a pretty good way to spend a morning–a distant third to a coffee infused morning of a decadent breakfast  or a coffee infused sugar coated breakfast of Sugar Crisp and Nutella covered toast.

This morning, as I scanned the road ahead, I saw the shape of her and her dog running away from me (a sure sign that I was a little later than usual). Her usually vibrant jacket was barely visible, but her form unmistakeable.  The air had a special shimmer and within seconds she and her dog simply vanished.

I peered more deeply, wondering if I was sleep walking or dreaming or just losing my eyesight. I noticed that there was a kind of fog ahead.  While a lazy writer would say that she had been swallowed by the fog, I had to reject the notion.  A swallowing fog would have been dense and white, whereas this fog seemed like a transparent mist.  It hadn’t swallowed her, but rather accepted her and her four-legged companion in.  They were one with the fog and no longer relevant to the outside world.  She hadn’t been swallowed, she had been included.

I traced the fog up from the ground to the sky and was rewarded with a special sunrise. As you can see by the clouds, it was a brilliant kind of morning.  Obviously, it contained Today’s Perfect Moment

August sunrise 2016 004

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, commuting, sunrise, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Almost Transparent Fog

  1. Geoff with a G says:

    I love these special sunrises. It’s like God planned it just for me to see and we could have a moment together.

  2. likelinley says:

    “It hadn’t swallowed her, but rather accepted her and her four-legged companion in. They were one with the fog and no longer relevant to the outside world. She hadn’t been swallowed, she had been included.”

    Bravo. Brilliant. More.

  3. Paul says:

    Wow -loving the picture – most certainly a perfect moment 😉

  4. What a lovely post 🙂 Thoroughly enjoyed reading it!

Leave a Reply

