Spreading the Warmth

\ my lovely blog award

First and foremost, thanks to Just a Girl and a Bike for nominating me for this award.  I appreciate any feedback I can get on my blog.  I  am very happy that you found it worthy of the nomination.  I hope it continues to make you smile.  I also appreciate that by nominating me, you are exposing your faithful readers to my blog.  I will do my best not to let you, or them, down.

Seven Facts about myself (that I haven’t already alluded to)

one

I started this blog as a kind of “Happiness Project”. I wasn’t terribly depressed and life was fine.  I just didn’t think I was happy enough. I was negative when there was no call to be and was much more cynical.  What I can say about that is that it has been a fantastic success.  I have been much happier and while I have not eliminated negative thoughts (because you can’t completely) I am able to quickly guide my way back to positive thoughts.

In fact the last few months have been very positive on many fronts. I have had some many interesting interactions with people–as documented on this very blog, gained tons of confidence and enjoyed life.

two

I got my first cell phone this year. I had resisted for a long time, but finally caved in.  I am not convinced that this makes me any more accessible, and while texting has some advantages, it also has some disadvantages. Emoticons might be useful, but they don’t really capture the range of emotions my voice can.  Also, since they remain in the memory of the phone, they can cause a lot of angst and stress while they are interpreted and reinterpreted.

I should also point out that today my friend accidentally walked off with my phone and it was a real pain in the ass contacting him to let him know he had my phone. I actually need my phone to plan today’s events…but that’s another story entirely.

three

I write three other blogs, though none of them has attained the level of readership that this one has. The first was a hobby blog that I started on blogger but eventually transferred over to WP because there seems to be much easier to cross promote and attract followers here.  It has failed to grow mostly because I have put all my efforts into this blog and have neglected it somewhat.  Certainly a lot of what I post on this blog could be considered hobbies, or at the very least hobby adjacent, it just seems more natural to post them here.  Or perhaps because this blog has more followers, it just seems easier to reach people.

I think secretly I hoped it would be a success and that hobby companies would send me lots of “free” stuff to review.

I started a anger venting blog ( http://aslightlyangrycanadian.blogspot.ca/) because I thought it would be a great place to utilize my sarcastic nature. Once vented, though, those feelings were gone and I haven’t updated the blog in a long time.  I don’t feel too bad about it.

The other is a blog I started to teach my students little chunks of language. (http://englishchunks.blogspot.ca/) While my students said they liked it, they only checked out the site when I posted it on my FB page and practically begged them to go an see it.  I had originally hoped that this would be my ticket to blogging fame and riches.  I got over that notion but I got a little discouraged and haven’t updated it in quite a while.  Only one student wrote to encourage me to keep it up.

four

Every year of doing this blog I have managed to at least double the number of views and likes and comments. This year, this magical feat (at least in views) should be accomplished either today or tomorrow.

I consider that a fantastic success and I am so glad it is working out so well. I would like more comments, but I am confident that will come when I write more posts worthy of comment.  Besides, if I got too many comments, I would probably have to spend a lot more time answering them.

My only other dream is to be featured on WP’s feature Discover. I want my writing to reach as many people as possible and I would love for even a few of my words to make an impact with people.

five

I speak Japanese. I won’t go so far as to say I am fluent, but if you were to drop me down in a Japanese city or town, I would have little problem getting around and doing things.  Honestly, I don’t practice enough, but I do listen when my students are speaking in the elevator–yes eavesdropping is rude, but when you need to practice, you have to find ways to do it.

I speak Kansai ben, which is a dialect of the Kansai region (Kyoto, Nara, Wakayama, Osaka, Hyogo, Mie and Shiga).  It is a little more rough and tumble that Tokyo ben, but that is part of its appeal.

I never thought I spoke any kind of dialect, but whenever I speak with Japanese speakers they remark that I am speaking Kansai ben. I smile inwardly when this happens.

six

I am really fascinated by tattoos but don’t think I will ever get one. It isn’t a pain thing but rather a realization that I have ever changing moods and interests.  What I like one day, I completely forget about the next.  I flit from interest to interest with little rhyme or reason.  One day I am totally obsessed with riding my bike, the next I want to read all the Pulitzer winning novels.  One day I am interested in baking, the next I want to make knives (Thank you Forged in Fire).  One day I want a tattoo of Ryouma Sakamoto, they next I would want the complete text of the poem Invictus.

Couple that with a lot of indecisiveness (now when I go for a burrito–a new obsession–I just tell the counter staff to make it the way they like it and hope for the best. I haven’t been disappointed so far) and you can see that getting something as permanent as a tattoo just isn’t wise.

Fortunately, my students are displaying quite a bit of nice skin art these days.

seven

I have never had a cavity.

Nominations

This is tough. I read quite a few blogs regularly and find it hard to choose.  I also know that some people might find writing this post time consuming and more than a little stressful.  It took me more than a week to respond.

After making my selections, I noticed that this is a list of women bloggers.  Funny how that worked out.  I am quite positive that you will not be disappointed by any of the following blogs.

Bri  Bri is a fantastic advocate for cycling all year round.  Her posts are full of joy and happiness and cycling adventures.

Brittany  Brittany is a completely positive person whose blogs always make me realize I could be doing more, seeing more and living more.

My OBT This was probably the first blog I fell in love with on WP.  This blogger has been the most committed writer I have seen.  Her posts are awesome. (funny, interesting, exotic…there are just too many adjectives I could use)

CeliaCelia If you want to see beautiful pictures of Japan, this is the place.

Sarah Warsi  A fellow Canadian whose posts are thought provoking.

My year in Japan  This is a relatively new find for me, but since I like Japan, I was curious what other first time travelers thought about it.  She deserves more readers.

Katie In a similar vein, I thought people should see  what people are writing about Korea.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in achievement, adventure, ambition, appreciation, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, award, bicycles, blog, blogging, choosing, commuting, happiness, hobbies, Japan, Japanese, kansai ben, tattoo, wordpress discover and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spreading the Warmth

  1. The wiser says:

    I really like this post a lot. Good work Anthony.

  2. Beautifully written!!! I really hope it wasn’t too stressful 🙂 I can totally relate to dealing with negative thoughts as this is something that I am really working on myself right now.

  3. Thank you, Anthony! That’s a really high compliment!

  4. Sarah Warsi says:

    Anthony, thank you again for the acknowledgement. Much appreciated. 🙂

  5. Joanna Axiak says:

    Hello old friend. Joanna, former ESL colleague, here. I am responding to you and your post from Morocco where I have been living coming up on a year now. I don’t know why I haven’t read your blog sooner. My excuse is that it takes me forever to do just about anything and that I have a four year old. I absolutely love the title of your blog, “Today’s Perfect Moment”. I’ve always wanted to write a blog but get scared because for better or for worse, once your words are out there, they’re out there! I also felt compelled to write you, (now I realize that I am in the wrong post), because of your Tribute to the Hip, and that I ‘m feeling nostalgic. I digress… Congratulations on your blog and the recognition you are getting for it. Be well.

    • Anthony says:

      It is truly fantastic to hear from you–and rest assured that I will relay all of this to Liz. I saw your FB pictures and wondered if you had relocated to the Middle East. That is amazing.
      As for not reading my blog–I am glad you’re here now. Thanks for subscribing.
      I don’t do a lot of publicizing on FB, but I thought the Tragically Hip deserved it. Some people may not even know that they have their own wine.
      I highly encourage everyone to write a blog, but you especially. You’ve got a creative and passionate spark and I think your words could do a lot for a lot of people.
      Thanks again.

  6. Celia says:

    Thanks for sharing the love! It was great to learn a bit more about you and I look forward to checking out all the blogs you’ve recommended 🙂

Leave a Reply

