Quests Updated

I think all of us have quests of some kind. Maybe we’re looking for the hockey card to complete our set.  Maybe were looking for the last in a series of Red Rose Tea figurines.  Maybe our quests are to find that someone to live our lives with.  Maybe the quest is to travel to some distant place.

One of my friends has the stated quest of finding the worst song/singer ever recorded. While this seems easy, it is not.  This has to be a song (or songs) that were recorded with the honest believe that they were good, but in fact were unspeakably bad.  As odd as this sounds, this was not an isolated quest and you could probably find reference to it on the internet.  He did manage to find a “gem” of a recording made at the Royal Albert Hall by a wealthy socialite who invited all her friends (presumably who were too polite to decline) to hear her “sing”.  Astonishing really.

I have many such material and non-material quests.

These include collecting:

  • the whole set of the Forever Knight TV series
  • the whole set of hockey cards for the 1993 Toronto Maple Leafs
  • the whole set of Microtrains Canadian series

These include:

  • eating the best pizza ever made
  • eating the best hamburger ever made
  • drinking the best orange pop ever made

Cony 008

It is this last one that generates today’s post. You might remember a post I wrote about this quest on the first of July.  If you haven’t and are a little curious, please click here.  This is how the story goes.  I have been eating a lot of burritos lately.  I have become obsessed with them.  While doing so, I noticed that a certain brand of Mexican pop was available to be purchased at these restaurants.  While I was usually planning on drinking cherry coke with my burrito, I never gave them much thought.  Yesterday, however, I found a bottle at my local grocery store and decided, on a whim, to take one home.

I have to say, I really enjoyed this flavour. It had a bit more “bite” to it and was very enjoyable.  I would certainly drink it again, and I would put it in my top 5 (currently).

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beverages, collecting, drinks, hobbies, N scale, quests, trains, vampires and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quests Updated

  1. Geoff with a G says:

    I know you’re going for orange pop but jarritos guava flavor is pretty good too. Check it out!

  2. hmunro says:

    I don’t often drink soda (or “pop,” if you’re from Minnesota) — but when I do, Jarritos are my hands-down favorite. Glad they made your list of perfect moments, Anthony!

Leave a Reply

