Some Wine, Some Words, and Some Confusion

lcbo

I think my positive …attitude/energy/aura….whatever is really starting to produce some results. I have been meeting a lot of people and having lots of interesting conversations.  Today provided another example of this.

Let me set the scene for you. I was in the Liquor Store (the LCBO for those who don’t recognize the local short form–and why would you unless you were a local) because I am having a function this weekend which required the purchase of a bottle of red wine.  While I like browsing at the liquor store (today I had a sample of vodka and some kind of raspberry soda–don’t really see the point as vodka and orange juice was perfected many years ago…but I digress), there are some areas that have me at a loss.  Wine, red or white or whatever they call that stuff in the middle, is one such area.  I have no idea what would be a “good” bottle of wine.  I have no idea what would be considered “drinkable”.  I have no idea of how much wine the average person will consume at a dinner.  Really, a complete mystery.

Luckily the people at the Liquor store will usually provide some assistance. I know that they train hard at that stuff and can usually be counted on to deliver some useful advice.  Unluckily for me, I couldn’t find any of those people.  I even went to the snooty part of the store (mood lighting, glass cases and jaw dropping price tags) hoping to find such an “expert.”

I took a gamble on a bottle of wine and was about the leave the store when I saw an attractive older woman perusing the same section that I had formerly been in and had grabbed my wine from. “Are you a wine drinker”, I asked figuring that since she was in the wine section and was doing a good job of loading up her cart, she probably had some experience and knowledge which I could utilize.

“Well. I drink wine, but I am no connoisseur” she explained in a very English voice

I laid out my story anyway and showed her the bottle I had selected. She smiled and mentioned that it was one of her favourites.

Of course, English teacher and nosy busybody that I am, I inquired about her accent and we had a nice talk. During this conversation, she said one of the most unique things I have ever heard in my life.

“Your accent is quite soft.”

Unlike the handsome comment from the other day, I was less sure of the complimentary nature of this….well compliment….comment? I have heard a lot of things said about my voice before.  Words like deep, unusual, unique, scratchy, have come up before.  People have called me loud, booming, powerful, but never has the notion of a soft accent come up before.

Now as I type this, maybe she was saying that she didn’t think I was Canadian…. I might have to break out a whole Tim Hortons lexicon on her.

All kidding aside, while I am not sure it was a compliment, I certainly don’t think it was an insult. I appreciate that she shared what she noticed.

 *     *     *     *     *

On another note, what does one do with a bottle of red wine? Does it need to be made cold….or cool?  Seriously, I need to know.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beverages, liquor, liquor store, shopping, talking, wine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some Wine, Some Words, and Some Confusion

  1. Brittany says:

    I know nothing about wine, but I do know that when you think positive and act positive that’s what you attract!! Well done, and good luck with the wine process. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Go outside. Let the world in. | From guestwriters

  3. Reds — room temp. Whites & roses — chilled.

  4. Do not chill red. I don’t know much, but I do know that 🙂

Leave a Reply

