What Time Away from the Bike Teaches You

bike 006

Some of you might have noticed that I took a week off of blogging. I didn’t really take a week off, but rather was working hard enough that blogging lost its priority status in my life.  Additionally, for totally different reasons, I took a few weeks off from being on the bicycle.  Today, after missing yesterday, I hit the road again.  I have to tell you, missing three weeks off can really teach you some things (or as they say just a bit north of here, it’ll learn you something).

Here’s what three weeks off the bike gets you.

A deep appreciation of rhythm. Getting out on the bike regularly is so much easier than going in fits and spurts.  Your body and muscles are more prepared.  They scream much less when you come to the hills.

A chance to walk up some hills. This is my worst feeling, but sometimes I let a hit get to me psychologically.  I could have just kept going, but it looked steep and it felt steep, and I wasn’t really prepared for it.  I hate that.  I hate holding other people up.  They are too nice to razz me but…maybe they will do it when I am not around.

Either way, it was still a good day to be on the bike and the first 35kms were good enough. There is a holiday tomorrow and I hope to get back on the bike.  They promised a slow ride…we’ll see.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, climbing, cycling, efficiency, exercise, group rides, Newmarket Eagles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Time Away from the Bike Teaches You

  1. Geoff with a G says:

    Thanks for reminding me to get out there and start moving again

  2. Even a bad day on a bike is a good day 🙂

  3. Paul says:

    I read somewhere last week that 2-3 weeks off the bike can really hurt you when you get back as it can take a while to get back to where you were both physically and mentally. I think your experience backs that up.

Leave a Reply

