What Others Say about Online Dating

One of my colleagues explained her online dating experiences to me while we took the subway to our destinations after work. It was a look into a world that so many have encouraged me to join.

Since this was not the first time she mentioned it, and not the first time one of my colleagues have talked about it, I am beginning to understand just how usual it is. On the other hand, maybe I am concluding that because not one of our fellow subway passengers bothered to listen in on our conversation–and we weren’t speaking in hushed tones either.

Today and past discussions have imparted the following information. Feel free to disagree with them because these are the (mostly) unedited thoughts of my colleagues and other people who have weighed in on the subject.

  • There are lots of people out there.
  • There are lots of people who aren’t looking for a serious relationship.
  • Most people are on multiple sights with slightly different profiles.
  • Pictures lie or aren’t current.
  • Grammar mistakes in your profile are inexcusable (I work with teachers, so I guess this shouldn’t be so surprising, should it).
  • People are just shopping.
  • You’ve got to wade through a lot of stuff to get to the cream of the crop.
  • It’s hard to meet people.
  • Married people just don’t understand.

As for me, I am just waiting to take a good picture of myself.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in adventure, adversity, advice, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, dating, online dating, relationships, websites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Others Say about Online Dating

  1. I met my husband on Eharmony 11 years ago. Best money I ever spent.

  2. lianadesu says:

    I met my boyfriend on Tinder LOL. And we’re planning on moving to Hawaii together next year.

  3. Sarah Warsi says:

    Online dating definitely has its pros and cons but it is certainly becoming a more welcoming way to meeting people and not nearly as taboo as it was 5-10 years ago.

Leave a Reply

