Noticing the Barely Noticeable

I didn’t notice it at first, but maybe because it wasn’t that noticeable. Subtle differences in everyday life are not that distinctive.  A situation that is not identical every day is likely to not resonate differences mostly because it is never the same anyway.

I was taking my regular bus–which is only my “regular” bus until this early work schedule is necessary–when I got the distinct feeling that something was…wrong. While wrong sounds ominous, it wasn’t that at all.

For the first time in these past couple of weeks the bus seemed rather empty. That is not to say there were no people.  There were no people standing and I couldn’t hear the hum of morning conversations.  I registered all this quickly but put it out of my head.  It didn’t seem significant to me.

It was only upon later reflection that I wondered about it. Had a whole bunch of people just decided to sleep in?  Had that same whole bunch just taken a Thursday off?  Neither one of those things seemed reasonable.  Who takes a Thursday off only to have to go back on a Friday?  Had all those people somehow managed to catch an earlier bus?  Why wasn’t I on the earlier bus?  Was this earlier bus the “cool” bus?

I don’t think of this as mundane. I think this is about perception of our environment.  So often we cruise through our day barely noticing the minute differences.  Someone has rearranged their desk. Someone has changed their scent.  Another person has changed their coffee brand or type.  These differences have no effect on our lives, but they are still worthy of a little introspection.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bus, commuting, Toronto and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Noticing the Barely Noticeable

  1. bgddyjim says:

    I look at your take on the smaller things in life differently. My wife is like you suggest, “Let’s pay attention to every little detail”. I am the opposite. I don’t care why the bus is half-full…

    The brain is a funny thing. It fills up like an old computer over time. I figure, “Why blow computer space on why a commuter train is half-full on a Thursday?” I don’t care why the subway is half-full. I’m still on it. Better to just sit back and enjoy the reduced noise.

    • Anthony says:

      Perhaps, I wasn’t clear. I am not really wondering why the bus is empty, but rather noticing and revelling in the fact that the bus is empty.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Or maybe I read it differently, with my experience with my wife attached? Either way, your post A) got me to think, and B) got me to think about my wife, and C) made me smile about B… Those are all good.

        Not my perfect moment yesterday, but good enough for government work.

  2. Very insightful. I really enjoyed this post 🙂

    • Anthony says:

      Thank you. I appreciate that you took time to comment. I hope my words will occasionally either make people smile or at the very least give them something to think about. There is a big world out there and there are lots of things to point to .

Leave a Reply

