The Ebb and Flow of my Morning

ebb

Today’s blog post celebrates the ebb and flow of life, or more specifically as it relates to my day. Today was one of the few days when I could see the balancing act more clearly.  Today was a day when these ups and downs could be more easily defined and more easily dealt with.

It started innocuously enough. I  watched as the bus passed the stop.  I chose not to run, thinking that my bus, the express, would be next.  However, when I got to the bus stop, the next bus was not my express but a rather banal regular bus, and one departing at a later time than normal.  I concluded that the bus I passed up was my express bus and I felt like a fool.  I inwardly got angry at myself, though I could have done it outwardly as no one else was at the stop.

I managed to calm down after a minute of internal rage. In that minute, the bus sign changed and my regular express bus was right on schedule.  Perhaps the bus sign was mocking me.  Perhaps there was just a tiny screw-up.  All I know is the things worked out.

While on the bus, the zipper in my backpack came apart. I knew the pack was on its last legs, but I had forgotten to buy a new one on the weekend.  I was hoping it would last until at least Tuesday, when I would have more time to find a replacement.  I needed some safety pins or some fast sewing to secure my belongings.  At a shoe shine shop, located in the subway entrance, the store owner (I presume) gave me some safety pins to get me through the day.

So it is kind of like that Seinfeld episode where Jerry is “Even Steven.”

Oh yeah, and for once, my banana did not get all mushy in transit. Do  you see what I mean about ebb and flow?

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, ebb and flow, seinfeld and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

