Drinking, Flirting and Living

I am unsure as to how exactly it transpired. At best, all I can do is report the incident as faithfully as my memory will allow and move one.  You see, this is a story in which the hero (me, though I am less than comfortable with that title) who set out from work to indulge in a little libation while at the same time ignoring the semi final match of the European Cup between France and Germany, found himself flirting with an Italian woman.

Beginning at the beginning , or perhaps before the beginning, I should note that I heard some spectacular news in the early afternoon. One of my student received his results on an exam he took recently.  It is an important English exam which could set him up for fantastic jobs in the future.  He passed and I was quite proud.

Despite this, or at least not considering this, I went off to my favourite brew pub to entertain a student who has imbibed with me in the past. He featured in spirit, though not in name, in the post about the girl who rocked,  Today, I wanted to treat him to a bar that made their own beer.

I had expected that this part of the adventure would provide the Perfect Moment of the night. Unfortunately, or fortunately depending on your point of view, this was not to be the case.  Some time before 8 o’clock we left the bar and headed to the subway.  We considered taking the bus, but decided to walk–allowing my drinking companion to indulge in some cigarettes.

We could have stayed on the south side of the street, but opted to cross to the north to avoid some construction hassles. Had we not done so, things might have turned out differently.

While passing a bar, I heard my name called out. The student who had passed his exam was holding court with a large group of students on the patio of a pub.  He invited us in for a drink.  I would have refused, but my drinking companion spotted his crush sitting on the patio and having an empty seat next to her.  He said he would leave if I was uninterested in staying–but I couldn’t do that to him.  I wanted to give him a chance to pursue his crush–even if it meant sleeping late and writing this blog well past midnight.  Obligingly, I took a seat across from him and next to a lovely young (younger than I) Italian woman.  I had seen her before, but had not spoken to her.

So, I flirted. I flirted hard. I also learned some Italian expressions that I will not be allowed to share with anyone else.  Perhaps, I made a complete fool of myself.  The thing is, I don’t really care.  You put yourself out there.  You take some chances.  While my charms did not win the day, I felt like I put up a good fight.  I’d like to think I sowed the seeds for the future.  If I didn’t….well, I don’t want to think about that.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in ambition, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beer, dating, drinks, flirting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

