A Quest for Orange

Pide June 31 001

We will call it a quest for orange. Does that make any kind of sense to you?  It probably sounds like the ranting of a madman.  There is nothing I can do about that.  The quest for orange is real, and if you are unable to participate, I will go it alone.

Years ago, the quest for orange was instilled in me by my mother. After shopping at Sears, she took us to a fast food place called Red Barn.  Though this establishment did not survive my childhood, the memory of her urging me to have the orange drink because “it’s really good” at that location is forever embedded in my subconscious.

Another time, while working at a part time job at Woodbine Racetrack, after several hours in front of the dishwasher, I went and got myself a drink of orange pop. I am uncertain as to whether it was my dehydrated body or an overly generous mix of syrup and water, but it was the most delicious orange pop I have ever had.  The next day the machine went back to normal and the pop did not taste the same.

While there have been some great days of orange, they have been few and far between. However, I have never given up my quest, nor my ambitious and adventurous spirit.  When I come across a new orange, I have to try it out.

While at Mr. Pide, a Turkish restaurant on the Danforth (east Toronto) that I had gone to before, I decided to try the orange drink they had to offer.  The bottle was rather small, and the price was reflective of its import status.  Nevertheless, it was quite delicious.  That and the beers that followed constitute today’s Perfect Moment.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beverages, food, pop, restaurant, soda, Toronto, Turkish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Quest for Orange

  1. bgddyjim says:

    A Coke, 60-85 miles into a ride has the exact same effect. Great post man. I don’t know why but it put a smile on my face. And made me want to get a Sunkist orange pop.

    • Anthony says:

      I am glad to hear you liked the post. The quest for orange, and its fierce rival–the quest for the best rootbeer–are very near and dear to my heart.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Oh, and don’t forget the quest for the perfect Cream Soda, while we’re at it!

        I believe Faygo wins this contest btw.

      • Anthony says:

        Never heard of Faygo….but I will keep my eyes open for it.
        I like cream soda. Lately, I have seen some interesting flavours (for most of my life, I was convinced that there was only one…but that now appears not to be the case.)

      • bgddyjim says:

        Faygo is a northern Midwest product. If you ever run into it, try Rock n’ Rye too. You can order it on Amazon but it costs an arm and a leg. If you like ginger ale, look up Vernors. Best ginger ale on the planet, no kidding.

  2. likelinley says:

    I totally get it. Just with orange, not root beer or cream. Weird. I had one once that was really good but I don’t even remember what brand it was. I think it was a similar situation where the timing and company had more to do with the perception of deliciousness than the actual brand. Someone needs to do a scientific study…Stat!

  3. Pingback: Quests Updated | Today's Perfect Moment

Leave a Reply

