Helping Me Make a Choice

tattoo 001

Today I need your help. I have several minutes which I have deemed worthy of being Today’s Perfect Moment, but can’t decide which.  Normally, this wouldn’t be a problem, but a poor last class–foreign students whining or whinging (I’m not sure which is more appropriate or whether I spelled that last one correctly) about food in Canada.  I try to be patient…and make allowances for their inability to be subtle or diplomatic due to language barriers…but their body language and voice tones make that difficult.  I shouldn’t let it bother me, and I have been quite successful at it lately…until today.

So, I have three moments, and I would like you to help me choose the one that deserves the title.

The Chance Encounter

I was on the subway minding my own business (this is also called reading and hoping to make eye contact with any of the beautiful people around me) when I noticed someone enter the subway. I thought to myself it has to be my previous student.  I was a little doubtful because I thought she had gone back to Mexico.  I put it out of my mind and concentrated on my commuter newspaper.

When I got to my stop I had to pass her to get to the exit. Surprise of surprises, it was her.  I guess she was doing a longer college program than I understood.  Either way, it still filled me with pride that she was going to college in English.  A brief hello hug and I had to get off the train.  I am going to have to send her a message on facebook after I finish this post.

The Exerciser

I am noticing more people exercising outside. I have already written about the woman doing deep knee bends and this moment is somewhat similar to that….okay, not so similar, but I feel confident that it falls within the same parameters.

I was walking to the school from the subway station. The sun was out and it was a pretty good day despite the fact that it was much earlier than I wanted it to be.  The funny thing was that I wasn’t alone.  Ahead of me a woman was walking at a nice pace.  It was only as I reached her that I noticed that she was lifting small dumbbells as she walked.  She smiled as I pealed to her right to enter my workplace.  I got the intense feeling that she understood things far better than I did.

The Tattoo

Long time readers will have already heard about my vicarious tattoo interest. I may never get one, but I always ask my students about the ones that they have.  Today I came across the best one I have ever seen.  A Brazilian student decided to get this one after a visit to Toronto a couple of years ago.  I could describe it, but the picture at the top of the page says it all.  The only thing I need to point out is that it is done using only two colours.

The Choice

Let me know what you think. Normally this choice is easy for me, but today it seems just a bit too hard.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, choice, choosing, exercise, ink, students, tattoo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Helping Me Make a Choice

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Three moments in one day seems productive to me. I’d go with all three and be thankful. I do dig the tattoo though.

  2. likelinley says:

    I vote for the surprise encounter with a former student.

  3. My solution: Make today a Trifecta of Perfect Moments. But that’s me. Maverick. Mold-breaker. 🙂 Forced to pick, I’d go with a flip of a coin: heads – chance encounter, tails – exerciser. (p.s. I do flips for little decisions, not big life-changers.)

Leave a Reply

