This Year’s Jersey

After a mediocre and rather long teaching day, I headed to Gears Bike Shop to pick up to pick up my package for the 2016 Epic Tour. If you recall, last year’s Epic Tour was a cold and rainy affair that lasted for 125 kilometres, redeemed by the strong organization and top speed of 72km/hr (down hill, in the rain, slickly paved surface–I can laugh about it now).  If you want to read about it, please click here.

This year, I have signed up for the 140 kilometre version. I was feeling particularly ambitious when I signed up.  I am hoping to regain some of that ambitious with more frequent rides in July.

The jersey looks good and the kit is very complete. Getting it only required a short bus ride and who amongst us doesn’t enjoy a look around the bike shop?  I managed to leave without spending any money, but the temptations were certainly there.

In conversation with someone at the store, I told them that I saw their affiliated cycling group (Morning Glory) on the opening of the GCN show (check it out YouTube). He told me that their weekend rides leave from the parking lot at 5:45.  I was too stunned to say anything.  I guess I had better stop complaining about my group’s 8:30 starts.

Add it all up:

Bike store + good weather+ cool new jersey+ info on bike trips +the positive interactions with students I failed to mention when I wrote the whole day off as mediocre = Today’s Perfect Moment

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, bike shop, bus, business, cycling, epic tour, jersey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Year’s Jersey

  1. Brittany says:

    How exciting! I can’t wait to read the recap.

  2. bribikes says:

    I hope it is a great ride!

Leave a Reply

