Early to Rise Yields a Surprise

May 2016 013

I can not say whether I am entirely a night person or a morning person. If I have to get up, I do.  Though I might feel sleepy at 9, I am doing stuff at 12 or 1, and sometimes later.

Why all this identity searching–especially since labels don’t really adhere to me? My company, finding itself in the enviable situation of having too many classes for the rooms they have, decided to fiddle with the schedule a bit.  That meant I had to get up earlier for work, and work later (with a luxuriously long lunch break of a couple of hours).

It is only temporary, and rather than whine, I am trying to make the best out of the situation. I will go with the flow and try to see some positives.  What have I come up with?

  1. new people to see on the bus–though, that means less chance of seeing some of my crushes, I might discover new ones.
  2. there is less traffic even a few minutes earlier.
  3. more sunlight means more vitamin D
  4. earlier rising means less of the cat waking me up.
  5. there are opportunities to work a little more–tomorrow is a good example of that.

One strange effect my early rising had on me this morning was the chance to check WordPress. I wouldn’t normally have time, nor would I take the time.  This morning, for some reason, I decided to check it before I left.  What I discovered is that one person read 33 posts.  Of course, this could be a glitch, or some kind of spam thing–but I am going to think positively.  Someone was interested enough to read a huge whack of posts.  Someone found my stuff compelling enough to keep reading.  That is phenomenal.

Sadly they didn’t leave a comment, but they might have thought that an email address was obligatory (it isn’t, just leave it blank).  Thanks anonymous reader.

That seems like a Perfect Moment to wake up to.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in achievement, appreciation, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, atmosphere, breakfast, morning and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

