And She Danced

Everyone’s got their subway routine. Some read books, some read the newspapers, some close their eyes and either sleep or approximate it is some way.  There are those who watch episodes of their favourite TV shows or play video games.  Perhaps the most common is to listen to music–or combine music with all of those other activities.  I usually read the free newspaper–having read my book on the bus.

Today, standing in front of me, there was a young woman who was listening to music. She was really into her music.  I could tell because she was kind of dancing.  I don’t mean she was moving like she was on the dance floor.  Instead, she was dancing like she was trying not to dance, but couldn’t help herself.  Maybe I could describe it best by saying she was dancing in a compact way.  I am not sure.  However, just like the woman doing deep knee bends, I could really appreciate the total lack of self-consciousness.  She was so alive in the moment.  It was perfect.  I admired it, and it made me smile on my way to work.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, commuting, dancing, music, reading, subway and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And She Danced

  1. Jazz says:

    I love how music can affect a person like this. It ignites such a variety of emotions within us, from sadness to the joy that this woman was obviously experiencing 🙂

Leave a Reply

