Spied Through the Bus Window

Today’s Perfect Moment is the result of looking up from my book at the right moment. Sadly, I did not have my camera phone ready.

I was minding my own business, reading The Girl on the Train, when I noticed some activity outside the bus window. It was rather far away and I wasn’t wearing my glasses.  It was on a perpendicular street and in front of a bus stop that a different bus serviced.  Nonetheless, the activity was unmistakeable.  The person was doing deep knee bends.

What makes this perfect (and remarkable) are two things. The first is the sheer absence of self consciousness.  It is one thing to jog outside, or do chin-ups at the park.  It is another thing to stand at the bus stop doing calisthenics while waiting for the bus.

The other thing that I find interesting is the “retro” nature of the exercise. Not even in the days of The 20 Minute Workout would you find someone doing this exercise.  I don’t ever hearing it being recommended.  I guess it is making a comeback, perhaps spandex, leg warmers and headbands are next.

I settled back into my book with a smile on my face.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, atmosphere, bus, commuting, exercise, retro and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spied Through the Bus Window

  1. hmunro says:

    What a fantastic moment! I had a similar one myself during my vacation last month, when I spotted someone doing prayer squats in the middle of the sidewalk. I guess that when you have to squat, you have to squat! I wish I could be so un-self-conscious — I’d be in way better shape, for starters. Thank you for passing along your big smile.

  2. Spandex, god no!! RIP! Coincidentally, just finished Girl on the Train. Fun read in its way.

  3. Pingback: And She Danced | Today's Perfect Moment

Leave a Reply

