“Your riding has come a long way,” she said

cars 027

I accidently shot this picture of my bike tire while walking through the car show looking for a coffee shop

 

Today’s Perfect Moment could have been the somewhat smaller number I discovered when I weighed myself this afternoon. It is definitely something worth celebrating and writing about.  However, something better happened.

Today was another day on the bike. While the last two attempts left me doubting myself something severely, today made up for it.  No, I didn’t smoke the other people going up hill against the wind.  No, I did not go faster than my top speed.

There was a rather huge turnout at the rides today, allowing for multiple groups. I went with the group that I normally cycled with last year.  While this was less challenging (and didn’t lead to me being dropped), it was still good exercise at a nice pace.  I managed to climb a lot of hills.  What made this the winner of the title of Today’s Perfect Moment was something one of my fellow riders said.

Your riding has come a long way. I can tell.  You’re much calmer and you’re riding really well.

I often play the modesty card and brush off all compliments. However, I could only muster a deep hearted thank you.  It really made me feel good.  Honestly, I’ve been thinking about it all day.  If you could see my face as I type this, my smile would be unmistakeable.

Oh, and there was a car show where the cyclists went to drink coffee and load up on carbs afterward. If you’re interested, please check my other blog.  The link is in the top right corner.  (I couldn’t get the hyperlink to work)

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, compliments, cycling, friendship, performing, positive comments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

