Yesterday’s Perfect Chocolate and Caramel Moment

cars 053.jpg

In case you can’t read the Japanese on the cellophane, it reads “variety pack”.

 

This blog is going to require some catching up. I didn’t write about yesterday’s perfect moment, but I will now.  Hopefully I will post both today’s and yesterday’s Perfect Moments.

So, let’s start with yesterday. A former student of mine was hanging around outside my class just before it started.  I went out to say hello and he handed me a bag of chocolates.  It turns out that his parents came to visit from Japan and upon his request brought some chocolates for me.

If I weren’t so adverse to slapping my face up here, I would paste a picture of my very happy, smiling face. Of course, I appreciate that he thought of me and convinced his parents to do that.  That was great.  I always appreciate a gift, and I know that when I get them, I have really made an impression on a student.

As for my fondness for Japanese confectionary…. It isn’t just the taste, which is different, but more the reminder for me. When I was first in Japan, trying new foods, new drinks, and adjusting to new surroundings, I could always count on sweets (not bakery sweets, which could be rather challenging).  I could easily find the chocolate bar aisle and didn’t mind taking a risk on some things.  Even if you make a mistake with chocolate, it’s still chocolate–unless it is over 95% cocoa, then it’s just heinous.

In Japan, the chocolate aisle in supermarkets and convenience stores is pretty awesome.  Just watch a few YouTube videos and you will see lots of them.  There are probably lots of blogs and vlogs on Japanese snack food.  I am sure chocolate will be featured among them.

I’ve written about it before, but I just thought I should go into a little depth. I am thankful for the gift and I am excited to eat some of them.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, chocolate, gifts, happiness, Japan, Japanese, students, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yesterday’s Perfect Chocolate and Caramel Moment

  1. hmunro says:

    Wow … what a haul! If you manage to pace yourself (I know *I* wouldn’t be able to) it looks like you have about 120 little perfect moments here. Lucky you, Anthony!

Leave a Reply

