When One Inspires

bolan

Though I didn’t sit in this seat, I had a view of it…and the orchid came up in conversation.

 

I had Thai food yesterday, which could have easily qualified as a Perfect Moment. It was spicy and delicious and the restaurant was pretty without being ostentatious. (funny aside, I had a bit of a brain lapse and spelled the word incorrectly–“austentatious” and then, despite knowing I had completely spelled it wrong, started wondering if there was some connection to the novels of Jane Austen and wondering if the word originated out of some criticism of the lives of the wealthy as depicted in her book…..okay, maybe this is only a funny aside for me.)

So, if Thai food is not the perfect moment, what was?

During the meal, the conversation took many twists and turns, but somehow we ended up talking about jobs and careers. This is not really a favourite topic of mine.  While I like teaching, its ups, its downs, its challenges and its uncertainties (as opposed to its rewards, its flashes of brilliance, its odd collection of characters and its unpredictability) don’t always resonate with my soul.  I guess the real problem is that I have seen people who are doing something so central to their true being that I am jealous.  There are people who are doing what they should be doing.  Some of those are teachers.  Some of those are writers and some of those are used car salespeople.

My dining companion, while being employed in something that they love, was speaking about a previous job. They spoke with such passion and energy that it was mesmerizing.  I could clearly see that they loved the job they were speaking about.  They were confident and engrossing.  It was kind of like the defining speech of a main character in a movie.  I don’t think I had much to say.  I probably just nodded and stared.  My friend and I don’t not often talk so deeply.

If I am being honest about it, I hope I get to make that speech some day.  It was very inspiring.

Looking back on it (and introspection is a part of this blog), it did have a movie quality to it. There was the exotic setting.  There was the sound of Thai pop music (at least I hope it was pop music) mixed with the visuals of Thai food labels.  The smells of the food were wonderful, though they wouldn’t translate on an ordinary movie screen.

I should apologize for talking about a moment from yesterday as if it were Today’s Perfect Moment.  It was a close second to Yesterday’s Perfect Moment, and much better than anything I did today.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in achievement, advice, ambition, appreciation, Aspirations, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, inspiration, inspiring, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When One Inspires

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Dude, Thai food is always a perfect set of moments – Siam Pad Thai – as long as it takes to finish the meal.

Leave a Reply

