A Sweet Thing

van morrison.jpg

Today’s Perfect Moment occurred at the supermarket. It wasn’t free food.  It wasn’t an encounter with a beautiful woman in the produce aisle.  It wasn’t getting a shopping cart that rolled well–which is a rare enough feet that it could be a Perfect Moment contender.  Surprisingly it is music.

Like most of you, I have suffered through some horribly bad muzak in stores and elevators and even on hold with the phone company. It used to be so bad that I got lots of practice tuning it out completely.

Today, while searching for some chocolate and cherry yogurt (which I did not find) I became aware that the store was playing some pretty good music. Then, it got incredibly better. They played “Sweet Thing” by Van Morrison.  While Van the Man has had some incredible tunes, this is the one that really gets to me.  It’s beautiful.

I probably looked odd standing in the middle of the frozen food aisle listening to the music. I don’t care though.  It was awesome.  If you’ve never heard it, I encourage you to take a listen

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, atmosphere, discovery, experiences, grocery, music, shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sweet Thing

  1. Completely get it! BTW, who cares what people think while you’re standing there appreciating music! How many even notice it so glued to their damn phones!

    Big Van fan here. Unfortunately, I’m blanking on my showstopper’s title. When it hits me at 2 in the morning, I’ll provide (haha).

  2. Santa Fe/Beautiful Obsession! (and before 2 a.m. too!)

Leave a Reply

