Catching Up on All The Perfect Moments

FCE 2016 017

My students and the view from a window seat at the Korean Cowboy

 

I have been a little remiss (so my students don’t need to use the dictionary, this means careless or thoughtless) in my blogging. I haven’t posted for many days, but I don’t want you to think that I have been missing out on Perfect Moments.  In fact, there have been a lot of them.

Life has been pretty busy with work and getting some errands done–after I finish this blog, I have a whole pile of them to do–unless, of course, I procrastinate them until the weekend.

The goal of this post is to catch you up on all of the perfect moments that I have had lately.

The end of a course

In the general course of my work, students come and go pretty rapidly. Some stay for as little as two weeks.  During those two weeks I might see them as little as four times and as much as five times.  This is the nature of the business and the schedule that my school promotes.  Given that some of these students might miss class do to opting for adventures in Toronto or surrounding cities, sleeping off epic hangovers, or dealing with crises back home…..we might not develop a Dead Poets’ Society type relationship.

However, usually once a year (sometimes more, sometimes less) I get to teach A Cambridge Exam Preparation course. This means I see the students a tremendous amount–every day for twelve weeks.  I get to know them, they get to know me (and my clothes and shoes) and it leads to a very memorable experience.FCE 2016 012

This just ended last week and we went out to celebrate. It was a good time full of good laughs, good drinks, and some really good food.  I had Korean tacos (bulgoggi filled tacos–excellent!  Though I regret not getting a picture of it.)  The grapefruit Soju was excellent.  I may have to go back again.

Clouds

You might have heard the expression that he has his head in the clouds. That expression can sometimes relate to me.  It also makes me realize, sometimes YOU should look at the sky.  There are some beautiful clouds there.

 FCE 2016 032.jpg

Pseudo Celebrity Spottingkevin.jpg

On an errand to pick up something for my sister, I was made to wait outside at a makeshift desk labelled shipping and receiving. Who should pass by but Kevin O’Leary.  I didn’t bother to say anything–though sarcastic comments abounded in my head.  I thought about selfi-ing me with him in the background–but didn’t really think it was worthwhile.

Reading the Classics

I had a chance to dip into a bit of Hemmingway this week. The Sun Also Rises is one of my favourite books, so I decided to read A Farewell To Arms.  While not as accessible as the Sun Also Rises, it is still a good read full of tragedy and humanity.  Not only that but it also strengthens my resolve to start writing fiction again.

Chance Meetings

I ran into an old friend at the bus stop the other day. She mentioned that she was running into all kinds of people from her past.  I guess the Universe just lines things up sometimes.  I took this as a sign that the Universe was lining things up for me too.

Extending a Helping Hand

I was asked to let someone observe my teaching yesterday. While I feel my teaching is not on top form, I let the person into my class anyway.  The lesson went okay–though not spectacular in my point of view.  The more interesting thing was that this person found it very difficult to get in the mandatory observation time because people wouldn’t allow it.  This seems very contradictory to my idea of teaching.  It is supposed to be a learning activity.  This is not only for the students, but for the teacher as well.  We have to collaborate.  We have to grow.

I guess some people just don’t feel that way. I kind of pity them.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beverages, books, drinks, eating, ESL, food, help, Korea, reading, restaurant, teaching, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching Up on All The Perfect Moments

  1. Brittany says:

    That’s kind of awful that there are so many teachers that won’t allow the observation, make you question why.

Leave a Reply

