Next Year, for Sure….Maybe

aurora street festival

It is weird. Despite ease and location, and while not necessarily a desire–more a willingness really, there are some things that just don’t get done.  What am I rambling on about this time you ask.  I only hope I can explain this without it being a whine.

Basically, I missed my town’s street festival again. I distinctly recall a week or two ago seeing the sign and promising myself that “this year (or this time)” I would go.  I totally forgot this promise to myself and only happened to realize it when I was at the grocery store.  Had I gone to a different store, I wouldn’t even be here writing about it now.

I’ve been living here for eleven years and I have never gone. While obviously some of those were probably conflicting with other events, and I probably didn’t know about it the first year…that still leaves a bunch of them that I missed.

I am struggling with the why. What is it about thing that are right around the corner that you can miss so easily?  What is it about things that you could easily do, but just never get around to?  Sure, I could blame it on laziness, but that can’t be the only reason.

When I lived in Japan, I did lots things during my free moments.  I visited castles, temples, shops and other sightseeing places.  I went for drives.  I took expensive elevators up towers to see the view.  I planned weekends on trains and hotels.  While it took some effort, I didn’t seem to mind.  However, when it is right outside my backdoor, it becomes much harder.

Maybe it is the same for everyone. When traveling or living abroad, you’ve already bought into the adventure.  You came to see things.  When you’re at home, you’ve got other concerns.  The grass needs cutting, the laundry needs doing…and don’t even remind me of the TV.  When I was in Japan, except for a Sumo tournament, there was very little I absolutely had to watch on TV.  I never once came back from time away wondering if I had missed something.

As for the street festival, I am not sure what I would be missing anyway. Having never been, I am unsure what the booths would have held.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in adventure, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, Aurora, celebration, confessions, information, lifestyle, missed opportunity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Next Year, for Sure….Maybe

  1. bgddyjim says:

    The answer to your conundrum is elephant ears.

    I would rather pluck my butt hair with tweezers than take my kids to our local town carnival… But they have elephant ears.

    I make it every year now, with a smile on my face as I eat my deep fried, cinnamon sugary chunk of heaven.

    Yes sir, that was my perfect moment today. Well, technically it’s the bike ride that meant I could eat the elephant ear, but let’s not get too deep.

  2. hmunro says:

    I have the same experience you do, Anthony: I’m a different person entirely when I travel. More curious, more open to serendipity and new experiences. And I think that’s in large part to the fact that I have LOTS more free time when I’m on the road than I do at home. But thanks to your post I’m going to try to push myself this week — just once — to break out of my routine and be a tourist in my own town. Thank you for the inspiration!

  3. Anna Kwan says:

    I think very often when we live where we are and have established our roots, we don’t look at our own hometowns as places to visit. Rather, they are places as a means to an end. We move into a new town often for work obligations, personal security and safety, and to be closer to loved ones.

    Rarely do people move into an area because they want to have “the tourist experience”. That’s what “stay-cations” are for.

    Ever since I started to have a greater sense of civic pride in my city’s history and culture, I’ve become a tourist in my own home town. There are lots to explore if you know where to look … And chose to go!

  4. Diego Anthamatten says:

    Hi Anthony
    It was a great time with you! Thank you so much for everything you did for us! You were my best teacher I have ever had!!! I wish you all the best! Diego

Leave a Reply

