Survival of the Less Fit

It was a tough day on the bike today. The first 40kms went okay, but the last 45 were particularly hard.  I could make excuses like a stronger head wind, but the truth is…my fitness level has suffered over the winter.

The club had a ride to lake Simcoe today. It was quite beautiful to behold.  I wish I had had time to take pictures but the other club members were not interested in a break.  There was a charity ride somewhere out of town so there was only one group riding.  Due to some technical difficulties, I arrived just as everyone was leaving on the ride.  I could have used a breather, but my tardiness prevented that.

The suggested speed limit was twenty-six to twenty-eight km/hr.  I did alright going out, often beating that suggested speed into the thirties and even getting up to 50 on a nice downhill section.  However, coming back, I could only manage mid-twenties and sometimes high teens.May 2016 021.jpg

I am not despondent though. The first serious ride is always the toughest.  I managed to finish it, and the group leader was a nice guy (Big John–I suppose because he is rather big).  I will also latch on to a slower group next weekend, with aspirations to get faster as the riding season continues.

Having survived, I opted to treat myself to a drink.  I hope I will be able to get up tomorrow.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, challenges, cycling, fitness, ice cap, Newmarket Eagles, Tim Hortons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Survival of the Less Fit

  1. bribikes says:

    Good on you for getting out there and going the distance, Anthony! You will be speeding along in fine form in no time 😀

  2. I went on my first ride in almost 4 years last week…. yeah. My quads weren’t happy. It just means I need more practice. Good for you. PS people here in the mountains have snow tires they put on Mt bikes. I’m just not that hard core. PS If you didn’t ride the bus you’d miss some quality material.

  3. bgddyjim says:

    Get up tomorrow? You have to RIDE tomorrow! No rest for the weary, brother. Get it done!

    Seriously, congratulations man.

Leave a Reply

