A Moment Lacking Perfection

ttc map.jpg

I almost missed the signs.

The day started out okay, but maybe I got too ambitious. Maybe I just wanted to do too much.  Maybe, I should have realized that the day had other plans for me.

I got to sleep in a little–which sounds better than it is. I also had time for more breakfast than I normally do–which is as good as it sounds.  The only thing I absolutely had to do was get to work for a late morning meeting.

Having what I assumed was plenty of time, I decided to head to work about an hour early so I could do an errand for my sister. She had won a prize (Game of Thrones Box season 5) in a radio station contest.  The only problem was that she had to pick it up downtown–quite a distance from where she works.  I offered to do it one morning when I had time.  I have a metropass, so the only cost would be in time.

I figured from my work to the place, would require about 30 minutes of travel time. I hoped for less, but budgeted for that.  Better safe than sorry I think.  I had no idea if the meeting would be important or not, but if the boss calls a meeting, it is better to attend….. probably.

My bus trip from home to the subway station was rather slow. The route timer/computer thing at the bus stop (which displays what busses are due and when) was completely off.  I wanted to curse it–but it was a machine.  Needless to say, it arrived at the subway station a little later than I had hoped.  I still had about an hour and a half to the meeting, but I had expected to have more.  Here I missed an obvious sign of things to come.

I boarded the subway, pulled out my book and proceeded to read. I had a vague feeling that the train was moving slowly, and stopping at places that weren’t stations–but there weren’t any announcements.  Usually there are lots of repetitive and slightly informative announcements about slow trains–congestion, signal problems, track maintenance, driver apathy–something.  I ignored this sign too.

subway waiting

I was deep into the story and only casually wondering how far I had gotten.  I checked the time and after traveling for 40  minutes, and then checked the route map.  Surely I was close.

I was only halfway there.

My frustration was quite palpable. Few others were visibly upset, but I have to hope I wasn’t the only one.

Half way.

I didn’t miss that sign. I got of the subway and headed in the opposite direction.  I made the meeting, but I had to text my sister and explain that I would give it another shot next week.

Obviously this doesn’t qualify as a Perfect Moment–far from it in fact. However, I just have to call it some kind of moment.  At the very least, I can say I made a decisive choice.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, decisions, errands, public transportation, subway, transportation, TTC and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Moment Lacking Perfection

  1. The sister says:

    Thanks for the effort. We are into Fargo at the moment. And I am up to date with GOT.

  2. hmunro says:

    Yes! You at least made a decisive choice, instead of accepting your (admittedly crappy) fate on this particularly slow train. Better luck meeting up with your sis next week. 😉

  3. Pingback: The Wisdom of Students | Today's Perfect Moment

Leave a Reply

