Discussions I Find Myself In

trucli.png

Today, I decided to take a look at my blog stats. These are the things I learned:

  • Although I though I was rather prolific last year, I have already written more posts than I did last year.
  • I have already eclipsed the number of views that I had from last year, though not as many viewers–that’s a positive right.
  • I have received more comments than last year–or does this include the one that I made in response to people’s comments–either way, there are still more comments.

I feel pretty positive about all of that. Writing more is good and reaching more people is good.  That doesn’t make it Today’s Perfect Moment, but it makes it a pretty good moment.

As for the Perfect Moment….I was discussing one of my male colleagues’ affection for Donald Trump–which he exuberantly explained after I wondered aloud why he was whistling the U.S. Anthem. It was rather surreal.

What happened next was that one of my female colleagues, intrigued by the discussion, came over and wanted to impart her opinion. She is a dual citizen and will be voting in the election.  She took the time to explain a bit about the election process.  She highlighted things I was completely unaware of. She spoke thoughtfully and articulately and  it was nice to see her engage in the topic.  What made it perfect was that it was just so unexpected–and seemed so much more interesting than the surreal discussion.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, blog, blogging, discovery, election, politics, statistics, teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Discussions I Find Myself In

  1. I’m a huge a believer in being prolific, it’s such a big part of the equation.

    I think comments are most important because it means community. you can have 100,000 followers, but only 1 person comment so if those went up then I would say that’s really good:)

    I’m not very political, I wish I was because I think it’s good to have an opinion on things and I’m also so impressed by people who can debate their point of view in relation to politics.

    nice post:) I liked the ones that I read;)

Leave a Reply

