Rain Rain Go Away….

I had several different options for Today’s Perfect Moment. One of my students was kind enough to make some sort of chocolate truffle treat.  It provided a really nice pick me up in the morning.  Also one of my colleagues spent a few moments encouraging me on the dating front.  While not my favourite topic, it was nice to have someone in my corner.  I could also point to several funny conversations at work.  I’ve got some colleagues who can really make me laugh.

Instead, I have to give the award to Mother Nature today. Just as work finished, and the sky was bright and I was looking forward to a comfortable walk to the subway station, a quick glance outside indicated it was raining.  I was a bit shocked.  Where had the beautiful weather of just a second before gone?  I wasn’t the only one.  My co-workers gasped and cursed and complained–in a variety of languages.  One suddenly was no longer looking forward to his bicycle commute home.  One berated himself for not bringing a rain jacket and a few of female staff asked aloud why they hadn’t brought an umbrella.

Of course, such misery, doesn’t qualify as Today’s Perfect Moment. That would be schadenfreude at its zenith.  What does make it perfection is that by the time I got my stuff together and hit the streets for my walk to the subway station, the rain had stopped and the streets had already started drying up.

I should also note that I checked my bag and realized that I had brought my umbrella.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, commuting, ESL, hard work, subway, weather, work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

