Wonderful Japanese Chocolate Moment

Tracy & Tirol 007

Today’s Perfect Moment is a no-brainer for me. The only concern I had was whether it was going to be Friday’s Perfect Moment or Saturday’s Perfect Moment.

On Friday, one of my students brought me a box….container….package of Japanese chocolates. These weren’t any chocolates.  These were one of my two favourite Japanese chocolates.  So you can see that outside of a chance romantic encounter, that was definitely going to be Friday’s Perfect Moment.  However, I knew that I wasn’t going to taste one until Saturday.  You can see my dilemma.

I should explain about these chTracy & Tirol 011ocolates. These little squares, which come in other flavours–though this is the best one hands down–are filled with coffee nougat.  That’s right, chocolate and coffee together.  Unlike a lot of Japanese candies and treats, these are not easy to find here.  I could buy an expensive assortment box from Amazon and get maybe one or two of them in the package–but that would be less than satisfying.

 

In Japan, these delightful little squares are found in convenience stores and supermarket retailing for either ten or thirty yen, depending on the size.  The ones pictured here are of the thirty yen variety.  Both varieties make a wonderful add-on temptation when shopping.  Grab a handful to add to your order, and they hardly make a dent in your wallet.  My only problem is that whenever I am in Japan, I eat them daily……several times daily.

Tracy & Tirol 016

I thought about taking a selfie of me eating them, just to capture the expression of bliss on my face–but I thought better of it.

If you get a chance to try them, please do.

I’ve got a package of thirty….I mean 29. Part of me says ration them.  The other, somewhat more driving part, says eat a bunch and enjoy yourself.  Is it odd that I can picture the characters from the PIXAR movie Inside Out in my head now having a debate?

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, chocolate, coffee, food, happiness, Japan, Japanese and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

