In the Eye of the Beholder

Today’s perfect moment arrives without benefit of a picture. Hopefully, I can conjure up a mental one.

I had worked late and was physically and mentally tired.

My book could get my attention, but couldn’t keep it.

I had survived a brutal class and one badly butchered lesson.

I had left a friend at the subway, knowing we should have talked more.

My stomach was grumbling.

The bus windows were slightly fog covered with rain and competing temperatures.

The bus lights were on.

Most people seemed to beaten down to talk and nobody was playing loud music.

The sky was prematurely dark because of the rain.

Given all of that, one might tend to dwell on the negative.

However,

I thought there was a kind of beauty there.

Everything looked

Peaceful

 

Just one second ago, as I was about to post this, someone made me laugh when responding to one of my comments. This might be a better candidate for Today’s Perfect Moment….

See our exchange here

 

You choose and let me know.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bus, commuting, poetry, weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the Eye of the Beholder

Leave a Reply

