Today’s Very Imperfect Moment–or the Bobble Head that Got Away

bobblehead

I’ve got to break up Today’s Perfect Moment into two today. That is because amidst the perfect, I need a moment to rant about great injustices.  I cannot always right the wrongs, but I can stand up and let my voice be heard.

I thought long and hard about which one I should write first. I decided to let anger loose first because it was the stronger of the two emotions and hopefully the perfect moment will help soothe the wound and tame the anger.  If I did it the other way, I might have to go to bed angry.  Part two will show up soon.

So, I went to watch the Toronto Blue Jays play baseball today. My sister bought the tickets specifically for this game because the first fans were to be given Josh Donaldson (Big Daddy, MVP …and all that) bobbleheads. While watching a good game, and of course a victory for the home team, was all that I was looking for, the rest of the family were counting on getting the bobbleheads.  We could have gone another day and gotten cheaper tickets.

As it was, people were lined up four and a half hours before the game and those that came two hours early (Yes! Two hours early!)  got none. NONE!  ZERO! ZILCH!

We did meet some lovely young women who got the bobbleheads and were kind enough to let a bunch of us take photographs with them (the dolls, not the young women–dolls though they were too).

The point of this non-ranty rant is that, since the only thing the club has had to hang its hat on in the last decade or so was last year’s fantastic performance and the MVP Josh Donaldson, couldn’t they have made enough bobbleheads for us all? Why make it a collector’s item that is being sold on EBay as we speak?  Why not revel in last year’s glories by getting everyone involved instead of the chosen few?  Yeah, it might have cost money, but I saw lots of people drinking ten dollar king cans, eating 11 dollar hotdogs, eating 6 dollar frozen ice drinks, and buying a lot of swag from the Jays Shop.  I am pretty sure that the generosity would have netted them more than enough money and fan loyalty.

At the very least, I would have written this blog–and I know I am not the only one.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in anger, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, baseball, disappointment, gifts, heartbreak, missed opportunity, obstacles, Toronto, toys and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Very Imperfect Moment–or the Bobble Head that Got Away

  1. Pingback: That Which is Left When Ranting Is Done | Today's Perfect Moment

  2. Anonymous says:

    I was so looking forward to that bobble-head but great day none the less.

Leave a Reply

