A Slow Ride

bike and train 004

The weather promised to be good and more importantly, I promised to be good. That meant that I would get a much earlier start to the cycling year than I did last year.  So, to that end, I awoke rather early for a Sunday, ate what food I could, loaded up my bike with emergency tools and tube, my water bottles with electrolytes and calories, and my jersey pockets with emergency food–aka nutrition bars and gels.  No sense bonking on the first day.  I will save that for the third ride like I did last year. Last year, the Sunday ride was the more casual of the rides and featured a start time of 9:30, which could also mean 9:45 if people weren’t vigilant.  This year, perhaps to ward off the heat or perhaps to cull the weak, an 8:30 start was instituted.

bike and train 009

The rest of today’s group

 

I made my way to the meeting point only to find that there were only 3 of us on the ride today. Making the best of the situation, we headed out to Musselman’s lake.  I wish I had photos of the lake–because it was incredibly beautiful today.  The water was a kind of blue that only seeing could do justice.

The lake route was quite popular as many people were out for the ride. It proves that cycling is a great social event as well as cardiovascular and muscular punishment.  I probably should try and see if there is a singles meet up for cycling–thoughts for another day.

musselman

Not my photo, but you get the idea

 

As for my performance:   While not entirely horrible, I certainly was slow.  I didn’t have to walk the bike up the hills, but once crested, very little, if any, momentum had been retained.  Luckily my cycling partners didn’t complain and though I held them up, they seemed to take it in stride.

I wore my arm warmers and I must say, they were excellent. I wish I had had them when I was on my epic ride last year.  I didn’t bother with the leggings, but I suspect I will need them once or twice before summer really takes hold, or perhaps they will allow me to keep cycling well into the fall.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, cycling, exercise, fitness, Newmarket Eagles, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

