Spotting Irony from the Bus Window

fuzzy

Every now and then you find a bit of irony in the world. Maybe some of you find it more often, but I suspect that you are looking for it.  I was alternating between reading and sleeping on my way to work when I spotted it and I was definitely not looking for it.  Maybe it called out to me.  Maybe it was looking for me.

The bus came to a stop and I looked at the car beside and below my window. After looking at the back of the driver’s head, and thinking she must be beautiful, I spotted two, large black fuzzy dice hanging from the mirror.

I wanted to check my phone and see if I had accidently pressed the time warp app, but by then the car had accelerated and the bus was unable to match the speed. This enigma wrapped in a possibly attractive driver in a rather immaculate white Honda were gone.

Why do I find this ironic? It’s 2016 and this is not hot rod car show with people dressed as 50’s models–albeit with a lots of tattoos.

Normally, I don’t even sit on that side of the bus. I took the seat this time because I wanted to peer into a few unopened hops and get a good look at the train tracks that perpendicularly bisect the bus route near its end.  I had been hoping to catch a cargo train loaded for bear or some interesting store windows, not a throwback to a different era.

My tone might be misleading. I am surprised and confused rather than angry and preachy.  If someone wants to put dice on their rear-view mirror, they can.  It isn’t my car.  Although I had had my coffee for the morning, I was rather unprepared for that.  It isn’t even an era that I can relate to–having only seen it in movies and TV shows.

It got me to thinking of the customized van craze of the late 70’s. I remember people putting up stickers telling people what brand of car they were driving across the tops of their front windshields.  I guess the styling and metallic badges weren’t enough.

I wonder what blast from the past will confront me tomorrow.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bus, cars, commuting, fashion, nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

