Evidence of the Eglinton LRT

trucks 001.jpg

Teaching is about managing distractions. Sadly, this includes mine as much as it does the students’.  Whereas theirs usually revolves around cell phone apps and various forms of social media, mine usually are outside the classroom.

One wall in my classroom is glass and it affords a fantastic view of student lounge areas and corridors. This does not warrant any attention from me.   I mean, who needs to watch students microwave their meals, or frantically do their homework–which I often remind them means work you do at home–but I digress.

No, my distractions come from other places. Mostly, as in the case of Today’s Perfect Moment, they originate outside the classroom somewhere in the real world.  I have a nice corner window that overlooks the real world.  It is a world populated by regular people, irregular people, dog walkers, joggers, pot smokers, food vendors, jaywalkers and illegal parkers.  I find time to speculate about all of them.

Today, in addition to all that, I also got something mechanical to look at. You see, that little boy inside me is still fascinated by machines and construction.  So when this truck rolled up, I just had to take a look.

They are building an underground LRT–supposedly cheaper than a subway, but am unsure. Our building is rattling and shaking and the loud thumps are getting louder.  The goal is a more liveable city.  I want to be optimistic, but I have been disappointed so many times before.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, constructions, Eglinton LRT, subway, transportation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

