Have Card Will Cycle

card 003

My membership card to my cycling club came in the mail today. I am now licensed to cycle.

Actually, what it means is that I am covered by insurance and I have properly contributed to the operating of the club. Maybe this year, I will even invest in some proper club wear…though, I probably won’t.  I joined a club, but I am not exactly a “joiner”.

I probably should have gotten the whole membership thing done at the beginning of the year. That would have been the smart and correct thing to do.  Of course, that doesn’t factor in Christmas bills and the general winter weariness that is more concerned with shovelling snow than it is concerned with wheeling down the road in the highest gear.

For anyone who is thinking of joining a club, I highly recommend it. Unless you absolutely love cycling alone, going out with a club is a lot of fun.  It is also educational in a way that the internet can’t be.  What I mean is that as well as general knowledge they have local knowledge.  I can read about a fantastic “new” nutrition product, but would not necessarily be able to find it here.  Need new tires?  They’ve been to all the local and slightly farther away than local shops and might even have the contact information on their phones.  I won’t even get started on the routes.

I’ve rambled enough.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, club, cycling, membership, Newmarket Eagles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have Card Will Cycle

  1. bribikes says:

    Wow, nifty card! Now you really are official 🙂

Leave a Reply

