Deliciously Perfect

Mr Pide 011 - Copy

Today’s perfect moment comes from a place many of my perfect moments come from: namely food. In an effort to expand my culinary horizons I ventured out what I have affectionately dubbed Turkish Pizza.

A year or more ago I came across a flyer/takeout menu for a restaurant called Mr. Pide. It wasn’t clear what kind of food it was, but it looked kind of like pizza to me.  After consulting my students, it was explained that this was a Turkish restaurant.  My Turkish students sang praises about it and encouraged me to try it.  It is located at 800 The Danforth at the western Edge of Greek Town–I could search for some irony there, but I don’t want to diminish the restaurant in any way.

Somehow, I never found the time or (more likely) anyone to go with me. My students went, without me, and came back telling me how delicious it was.  It was a story I heard many times over the period of a year or more.

I rounded up a bunch of students and went out to see for myself. Today was my day and I was determined to make the most of it.  Luckily I got to try many of the dishes because my students were up for sharing.  I also tried a couple of the Turkish drinks.

I hope you enjoy the photographs. You can’t really call this a review, but I would recommend you go there or find something equivalent where you live.  The staff was really friendly and I am sure I will go back many times this year–whether or not I can convince anyone to go with me.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in achievement, adventure, advice, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, drinks, food, pizza, restaurant, students, Turkish, waitress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

