Tales from the Oshare Cafe**

**Oshare is not the name of the café–keep reading…

winter continued 012

Today was a day of coffee and Japanese. Before you say, “huh?” and don a quizzical look on your face, I will explain how these things find themselves in the spotlight for Today’s Perfect Moment.

winter continued 013

Before I go into details, I should also point out that the morning was chalk-a-block full of omens (portents) that this day would in fact have a definite Japanese flavour to it. You see, one of my students brought me a green tea kit kat this morning. That this was a Swiss student with very little interest in things Japanese or green tea, might be a mere coincidence–but are there any coincidences really?  The fact that the movie Lost in Translation came up only adds to the list of omens.

Though I don’t often go out with students, I make exceptions from time to time. These times usually include mature students who are closer to my age and have either a fondness for beer or Japanese food.  If they happen to speak Japanese, that is all the better since I wouldn’t want my language skills to get too rusty.

So it transpired that I would find myself in an “oshare” cafe–not my words, but feel free to look them up and then compare them with the picture,–drinking decorative and delicious coffee with two Japanese women. And, as you can see, this isn’t a chain coffee shop.

coffeeshop

This is a far cry from how the day began–a bus ride through slushy snow that got me to work ten minutes later than normal. Luckily the sun came out and melted some of that snow before the cold reappeared and no more snow was going to melt.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, coffee, coincidence, Japan, Japanese, kit kat, students, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tales from the Oshare Cafe**

  1. Anonymous says:

    Kitkat green or otherwise always a treat. Glad you had a good day. Started rough for me. Ended with a bluejay win. Good enough.

  2. Brittany says:

    My boss adores those green tea kit kats! That’s a lovely looking cup of coffee!

    • Anthony says:

      The Barista did a nice job. My students were the ones who found this place and they should be commended for going off the beaten path (aka away from the chain stores) to find this place with its special decoration.
      I should note (in case she somehow reads this) that the barista was also a very tall, modelesque woman with a very friendly and kind personality.

Leave a Reply

