Notes on a Walk

I took a walk around my idyllic little town today. The air was a bit crisp, but armed with optimistic pessimism and your typical Canadian fleece pullover I managed to survive.  I live north of Toronto, but not north enough to sport the lumber jacket.

My town seems somewhat indecisive on what it wants to be. I am struck by how much indistinct architecture there is despite a glut of preserved historic/heritage homes.

I managed to go by the train station and take some pictures for my other blog. The station is cute, but the bus parking is cuter.  In fact, I would have to say that the bikes get better parking than most of the humans waiting for busses do.  Glad to see the town has their priorities straight.  Just for the record, I am on their side–though I won’t leave my bike there….maybe my old bike.

April Walk 022

I found the parking garage for the train to be interesting. Either the third floor is smaller than the others or Auroran’s just like parking on the third floor.  It is Saturday afterall and there isn’t a go train today, so…..what’s going on?

April Walk 005

I came across this wonderful fusion business.  They have been around for a while, so I guess they are successful.  It just seems like an odd combination to me.

April Walk 013

Passing by the Howard Johnson’s, I can only wonder what will become of this place. Does anybody out there want to buy a HoJo’s?  It’s been vacant for awhile–and this is despite welcoming a large number of refugees into Canada.  We probably could have done some quick renovation and housed some of them here.  There isn’t a kitchen in all the rooms, but we could have done some communal dining.

April Walk 028.jpg

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that fact that just as I was getting near home, it began to snow. Yes, Snow.  It is April second!  I was hoping to go out for a non-snow bike ride tomorrow.  In light of this “development”, I might need to re-think my plans.

April Walk 038.jpg

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, Aurora, nostalgia, photography, walking, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Notes on a Walk

  1. bribikes says:

    Thanks for the tour around your town, the bike parking is very cute!
    We are supposed to get some snow tonight as well but I am past trusting the weather forecast, they keep saying it will snow and it rarely does.

    • Anthony says:

      I see your weather forecasts are about as good as ours–probably since we aren’t that far apart and are both affected by the Great Lakes.
      A funny thing, I found out recently what a “60% chance of snow” means. It means that if they predict snow ten times, it will only snow six of those times. The percentage is actually a probability on them being correct as opposed to snow frequency. Weird huh?

      • bribikes says:

        That is weird, I had no idea!

      • Anthony says:

        It was a great book called Risk Savvy. I highly recommend it. It taught me a lot of interesting things–especially about doctors, MRI’s and cancer treatment.
        Also, I just updated the post with one more photograph. A weird fusion business we have in Aurora.

      • bribikes says:

        That is an odd duo, but of course I don’t think coffee goes with anything at all, that stuff is nasty 😉 Thanks for the book recommendation, I will check it out, perhaps I can get it through my local library.

      • Anthony says:

        I am sure you can. Check my “this year’s books” section to see the author’s name and picture. I got mine from the library.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    I feel your pain… it’s been a cold March.

  3. Marta Frant says:

    optimistic pessimism… I have to memorize the phrase.

Leave a Reply

