Routes Seldom Taken

Mom and tights 028

Feeling like I should really get out on the bike sooner rather than later I set out on a quest to get some warmer leg coverings. This quest, though incredibly linear by bus, took me down a route that was once familiar but is now rarely taken.  On this route, I was driven through some very distinct environments  As I reflect on these things, I can only conclude that it was Today’s Perfect Moment.

I got to see various construction projects from high rise condos, to house additions to the building of an underground tramway. Just as I was when I was a little boy, these kinds of massive construction projects still arouse a curiosity in me.  Were I little enough to climb on the seat and press my face to the window, I surely would have.  I would have marvelled at the machines and peered up into the sky.

I passed some tiny houses. Where once they sat back of a minor street, they now sit almost on top of a big boulevard.  Their prices, once modest, have reached levels which are most often ridiculed and scoffed at, yet still rise month by month.  If the bubble is going to burst, it’s going to be a really big bubble.

I passed shopping areas which a mix of nationally recognized brands and quirky one off places that are the secret delights of nearby residents and workers. They would love to tell you about it, but fear that popularity would just ruin it.

I went to the bike store. It was quiet, but I know that will soon change.  Good weather is upon us and more and more people will be riding.  I got the leg coverings, as you can see by the photo taken in the dirty mirror, and managed to fend off the lust for more and more equipment.

The bus ride back to the station was less enthusiastic as a crowded bus ruined the atmosphere.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, bus, clothes, commuting, constructions, cycling, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

