Baking for Breakfast….Kind of

breakfast march2016 001

Years and years ago, I went to South Carolina on a rare family vacation that did not involve camping in Northern Ontario.  Besides some great sights, I really loved that they served biscuits rather than bread rolls every place I went to.

In my university days, armed with a recipe from one of my mother’s cookbooks, I tried to make them from scratch. I ended up with a flour covered kitchen floor and somewhat hard biscuits that weremixer.png more reminiscent of English muffins.

 

I do like the idea of learning to bake one day. I think I even like baking more than cooking.  Perhaps it is because desserts and breads seem so much more delicious….Lately, I have watched enough “baking challenge shows to whet this interest.  I just wonder why all of these shows have expensive Kitchenaid mixers.  Obviously they are the sponsors, but they also appear to be the gold standard.  Is that true?

Back to the point. For this morning’s breakfast, rather than have predictable toast and/or cereal, I decided to make biscuits.  Now, before you get excited, I didn’t actually make them from scratch.  I found a mix at the dollar store and decided to give it a go.  You may not consider this real baking (and honestly, I don’t either)breakfast march2016 003 but it was so much easier.

I think they turned out pretty good. Good enough to be today’s perfect moment.  Of course the day is young yet, and I might have to amend this a little later.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, baking, breakfast, coffee, dollar store, dollarama, food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baking for Breakfast….Kind of

  1. bribikes says:

    Those look lovely! Kitchen Aid mixers are great, but in no way necessary. Don’t let those cooking shows fool you 😉

  2. Illian Rain says:

    Ha! I’ve wondered the same thing about those mixers, Anthony. Maybe I should just suck it up and ask my baker friends. I will keep you posted. 😉

  3. Loooooove baking & cooking! Been doing it since I was knee-high to a grasshopper. Yes, Kitchen-Aids are that good. However, they’re bot worth the investment for occasional bakers or novices who whip up a batch of brownies now ‘n’ then. You’re far better off getting a hand-held from a thrift store or cheap-o stand mixer from Walmart or wherever.

  4. ack, typo! “However, they’re *not* worth …”

Leave a Reply

