When Reading Transcends

reading.jpg

Today’s Perfect Moment is in celebration of reading. Reading is wonderful and I wish more people found it as amazing as I do.  Of course, writing this, I guess I am preaching to the choir.  If you’re reading this, you probably like reading.

Let’s start again.

Today’s Perfect Moment is in celebration of acknowledging someone reading. Sometimes we take that for granted, but we shouldn’t.  Very often my students wonder in amazement at the number of people they see reading on the subway.  I often start to tell them it is no big deal–but I stop myself and realize, maybe it is a big deal.  When I ask them their favourite author, usually only a small number of students have an answer.  When I ask them what they read, and point out that it doesn’t need to be fiction, more than half still don’t have an answer.

I do my best to encourage them, but I am not sure I am winning the battle. I guess I just have to hope that the thousands of texts they read each month might contain some very brilliant observations.  I want to awaken them to the joy of the printed word and they want to teach me the latest texting slang.

See, I got sidetracked again.

Today, I spotted someone reading. This usually awakens a big curiosity in me.  If I get a chance I ask them about what they are reading.  I have had some good conversations this way.  I thought this was a good idea and then the Toronto Star (newspaper) decided to copy me.  They call in Word Under the Street.  Click on the title to see a sample column.

Today, I spotted someone reading. She was reading one of the George R.R. Martin books.  What struck me as interesting was not what she was reading, but rather the intensity with which she was reading.  She was really into it.  Her eyes were hungrily devouring each word and her body language gave the impression that she was protecting the book like it was a newborn.  Clearly this was no casual reader.  I doubt I could have pried the book from her hands with a crowbar.  That impressed me a lot.  That made it perfect.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, books, food, literacy, literature, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Reading Transcends

  1. capejohn says:

    Lots of people no longer even read the newspaper. All their information comes from 30 second blurbs from the TV. Whenever I see a young person reading or riding a bike, I compliment them.

  2. It’s a sad, sad, sad, sad world. Soooo many equate reading with tweets, Facebook posts and so on. Sickenly sad, really.

Leave a Reply

