Monday Morning

daylight savings

I need a more positive synonym for strange. You see, Monday was strange, but I don’t want Monday to detract from the idea of perfect.  Besides, it isn’t like Monday was STRANGE.  Monday wasn’t STRANGE.  Monday was strange.  The funny thing is that it wasn’t even Monday’s fault.  I mean, it usually is, but this time it wasn’t Monday’s fault….this time.

Monday was strange because my walk to the bus stop was dark. Because the clocks changed on Sunday morning, instead of racing to catch my bus for 6:32, I was effectively racing to catch my bus at 5:32.  So no surprise that it was dark.  Logically speaking that is.

Again, I am making this sound more negative than I mean it to be. While I didn’t really like the idea of it being dark when only a week before it had been bright, I did manage to find some beauty in it.

It had rained the night before and the streets were like black reflective mirrors. The traffic lights, the car headlights and the glow of bits of neon signs now inhabited the upper and lower half of my vision.  The higher ones were vivid and sharp, the lower ones indistinct and muted.

The air was cool and moist.   Despite the darkness, I felt pretty sure that spring was on the way.  Hard to feel that it wasn’t perfect.

 

 

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bus, challenges, changes, commuting, holidays, international, nightlife, Omens, self improvement, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Morning

  1. Sarah Warsi says:

    I felt the time change yesterday evening. Was so tired! lol

  2. Sarah Warsi says:

    And don’t forget the days are getting longer again 🙂

  3. bribikes says:

    Daylight savings time always messes me up, I am still trying to get used to the change, but you are right spring is on the way and that makes it all worth it.

Leave a Reply

