To Old Friendships Rekindled

friends

Since late last year an interesting (and positive) phenomenon has been happing to me.  People who I haven’t connected with in a long time have sought me out and either contacted me or arranged to meet me. In some cases it was because they were in town and thought we should meet and do some reminiscing.  In one case, a friend had tickets to a live show and invited me.  In one more unusual, though no less positive, case an old friend was inspired to do some writing and it had provoked some memories of me, which has led to some wonderful sharing of writing projects.

Tonight, I had dinner with someone I hadn’t seen in almost twenty years. The last time we had spoken had been at my wedding.  We were friends in university, but had let our friendship lapse while we pursued that strange thing called life.  Despite the decades between communication, it was like no time had passed at all.  We ate Japanese food and talked for a long time.  Years have flown by, and we might have grown, we might have changed but there are still some unbroken connections.

To think, I almost postponed the meeting because it wasn’t the most convenient for me. Thankfully a wiser, more adventurous part of my character intervened.  Obviously this qualifies as a Perfect Moment.

 

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, friendship, restaurant, sushi, university and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Old Friendships Rekindled

  1. FoodChezNous says:

    It was awesome seeing you last week, I had fun catching up. Thanks for making the extra trek to see me!

Leave a Reply

