Mine and Mine Alone

viva bus at night

I live near the end of a bus line. This means that on most morning I have no problem getting a seat.  It might also mean that if I am not decisive upon entering the bus on the way home, I may have to stand for a long time.  It also means that I meet interesting people–I have written about some of the more colourful ones here, and I have written about at least one beautiful one in the “Missed Connections” part of Craigslist.

Despite all these interesting people, and the wonderful writing material they supply, sometimes , especially at night, something weird happens. Tonight was one of those nights.

I had been reading, or playing 2048 and hadn’t noticed that most of the passengers on the bus had departed. When I did notice, there was only one other person on the bus.  He was a stocky type, greedily clutching two saran wrapped paper places piled high with food (it might have been cookies or it might have been pizza–I didn’t want to stare too intently because I might become hungry)

I looked down at 2048, hoping I had a huge combination two 512’s and when I looked up, he was gone.  I was the sole passenger.  Like out of some movie, the huge bus was entirely being driven for me.

It felt pretty good. Pretty wasteful, but pretty good.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in adventure, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, atmosphere, bus, characters, commuting, Viva, YRT and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

