A Waitress Takes the High Ground

waitress

Long time readers of this blog will know that I have trouble making choices. When it comes to ordering in a restaurant, I can usually get it down to two or three choices but then spend a lot of time worrying about making the wrong choice–and while I am eating, worrying if I had already made the wrong choice.

I know–silly.

Lately, I have been employing a couple of strategies (is that stratagems….?) to combat this. The first is that I just choose one and not think about it again.  I might be wrong, but it is a pretty trivial decision and doesn’t really matter.  When this works, this works well and my life has been much better.

The other tactic is to ask the waitress/waiter which of my two choices is better. They work there, so they should know what is better and what the cook/chef is best at.  It makes sense.  Now, if you are going use this one, I would recommend that you ask them what they would eat if they were a customer in the restaurant.  This will probably give you a better meal–but it won’t solve your decision dilemma.  If you have no idea what to eat, or if you want the best thing on the menu, it will work.

I have used the second stratagem several times and invarriably, the waiter/waitress will always pick the more expensive of the two options. I don’t mind this because that extra dollar or two means I didn’t have to choose and it also makes them a bit more responsible for my happiness.  If their choice was bad, they are to blame–not me.

If I didn’t want to lay the responsibility on their lap, I could just choose the more expensive choice myself–but where’s the fun in that?

Tonight, a strange thing happened. The waitress, after careful deliberation,  chose the cheaper of two meals.  I was surprised to say the least.  It seems like good customer service to me, but it is so rarely considered that I was a bit taken for a loop.  For that reason, and that reason alone, I have to call that “Today’s Perfect Moment.”

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, help, restaurant, stress, waitress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

