I Missed the Bike Show

bike show.jpg

The Toronto International Bike show has come and gone (and besides wondering why International has to be in the title) …. I didn’t attend. Yes, that’s right.  I didn’t go.

I was planning on going, but I thought about it a little and decided that there really wasn’t anything really pulling me there. Sure, I could have walked the aisles.  I probably would have heightened my already out-of-control bike lust (If only,  I had the small fortune to drop on a Pinarello Dogma F8)  I could have sampled a few more energy bars, drinks and gels, though when not doing a lot of exercise, couldn’t really be that good for me.  I could have tried on some gear, though the small changing tents they have were less than ideal.

Do you get what I am driving at? Yes, I could have gone and looked at bikes I cannot currently afford–and my bike is practically brand new right now.  I could have gotten more kit; better kit in fact.  The thing is, I just don’t need it right now.

There are things I could have done. I could have gotten some trip information, or I could have gotten some information about various events.  Most of that is available on the internet, though.

I guess, I just measured up my equipment and thought, I have no needs so why should I spend 15 dollars to walk around a big convention hall. I could have picked up some inner tubes….I guess.

The things that are nice about a bike show, besides the bike attractions and awesome bikes, is the massing of like minded people. That is something that I missed.  It is really cool to be in a place where everyone likes to ride.  It is also easy to meet people when all you have to do is ask some of the following questions. “What bike do you ride?  Where do you ride?  Are you doing the Epic ride this year?”

If you went, I would love to hear about it.  I would also love to hear your feelings about these kinds of shows.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, bicyles, convention, hobbies, shopping, show, Toronto and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Missed the Bike Show

  1. capejohn says:

    I have never attended a bike show but have been to many bike events. Last October, I rode to the Driveway series bike races in Austin, TX. It was so cool because I rode from Lance Armstrong’s bike and coffee shop with four of the pro racers. At the end of the night we met a couple of dozen of them in the parking lot of a convenience store and drank cheap beer with them. My point is that it’s not the show, but the people you meet.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    I think you nailed it… It’s just fun to hang out with a bunch of people who ride for fun.

Leave a Reply

