How my Saturday was Ruined.

Toronto star

I couldn’t resist using this image–though my story is about something else entirely.

 

My Saturday started off rather badly. Saturdays are all about things I can’t do on weekdays.  Saturday is the day when I can drink more coffee at a much more leisurely pace.  Saturday is the day when I can linger a bit over breakfast.  Saturday is the day when the newspaper is so huge that it looks akin to a phonebook.  Today, however, was a day when the newspaper let me down.

I should explain that I don’t really read the newspaper. This is an odd statement because not long ago I would have described myself a news junkie.  I used to love reading the newspaper and loved magazines like the Economist and Macleans (I am Canadian).  However, lately, I haven’t really been into that.  Basically, most of the news that I had been reading hasn’t been very uplifting and I didn’t see any need to wallow in it too deeply.  So I stopped reading the newspaper too intensely and ignored most of the news.  If it doesn’t make you happy, why do it?

I do check up on the Japanese news websites and I take a look at the BBC website, but I am not that committed to it. I still scan the free commuter newspaper–though I can finish it in the five stops I take the subway for–either I am a fast reader or I skim everything….or there really isn’t anything of substance.  If I am being honest, there is another possibility.  The subway might be slow enough or delay prone enough to allow me to read the whole thing.

Recently, due to other people’s urging and an incredibly reasonable offer, I started getting a newspaper subscription. I didn’t really want to, but I did.  My recycling box is now full of paper and I hope it is actually getting recycled.  I try to read as much of the newspaper as I can, but I don’t always have the time or motivation.

When I lived in Japan, I reallly enjoyed reading the newspaper.  At one time or another, I subscribed to and  read the Japan Times, The Daily Yomiuri or the Asahi Evening News.  I devoured those papers–but that was pre-internet and at a time when access to English News in Japan was limited to one of those newspapers.  It was also the only source for a crossword puzzle–so you can understand how important it was.

The thing about today is that somewhere during the assembly of the newspaper, several of my sections got lost. Most importantly, my favourite section got lost.  That’s right!  They forgot the funny pages!  They forgot the comics!  No Zits!  No Retail!  I had time to read, more than enough coffee….and I had no comics.  That also meant that they forgot the crosswords, the jumble and the sudoku.

So my Saturday was shot. I probably should have gone to the Toronto Bike show and avoided the whole day.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, comic strips, entertainment, media, news, newspaper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How my Saturday was Ruined.

  1. Dan says:

    I don’t ever read a newspaper, unless I’m in it! I do enjoy my comics, but they are online and are about cycling….at least some of the time. One is Frazz. http://www.gocomics.com/frazz/2016/03/06 and the other is Yehuda Moon. http://yehudamoon.com/

    • Anthony says:

      I have been enjoying Yehuda Moon for a few months now after I saw it in Bicycling–I have even forwarded it to others.
      I will check out the other recommendation now before I go to sleep. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

