A Forever or Two Ago

on the bus

Let me set the scene as best I can. I was sitting on the bus headed to work.  I had arrived about a minute before the bus was due to arrive–fortunately there is a digital display that is updated in real time telling me when the bus is going to arrive.  Though it is never exactly the same from day to day, I am usually on time and able to avoid the winter air burn on my lungs that racing like a madman for the bus induces.

When boarding my bus, I was unable to take my usual/favourite seat. So, I selected a forward facing seat on the left of the bus.  I could easily have sat on the right but that would involve seeing all of the passengers before they boarded and caused me to play the “please sit beside me/please don’t sit beside me game”.  Perhaps because I was not playing the game this morning, I inadvertently won the game and one of my bus crushes sat beside me.  Not wanting to be a pest/having any good lines and she being curled up in her Beats headphones, I buried myself in a book.

When I looked up from my book, I noticed that the sun was out.

I did a quick double take. What was the sun doing out?  Was I late for work?  I scanned the bus and noticed the usual cast of passengers.  I was obviously on the same bus I always took–but the sun was out.

I guess on the weekend things have changed. While I wasn’t paying attention the days have gotten longer.  I can’t remember when I last rode the bus to work in sunlight.  It seems like a forever or two ago.  It was a cause for minor celebration.

Soon, and at least until the time change, I might even get on the bus in daylight.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, atmosphere, blog, blogging, commuting, happiness, imagination, incredible, temperature, Toronto, travel, unbelievable and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Forever or Two Ago

  1. Sarah Warsi says:

    Yes, I was just observing the same thing today! It’s not pitch black at 5pm anymore. What a great feeling. 🙂

  2. bribikes says:

    It is wonderful to see what even a handful more minutes of sunlight can do to brighten up the day!

Leave a Reply

