Perfect Indignation

subway

Today’s Perfect Moment is a strange one. Having read my previous posts, you might conclude that for me to call it strange, it must really be out there.  I am not sure that is the case.  It was just one of those moments that need to be remarked upon.  It happened in the subway.

I could have chosen my subway ride to work. It featured an interesting conversation with a lovely woman whose beautiful eyes sparkled up the whole train.  I had seen her once before and must have said something to her because she recognized and remembered me immediately.  She was incredibly young looking–as in, going to get ID well into her senior years.  While this was great, I have to discard it as a perfect moment because that beauty is spoken for with a husband and twins.

Instead of the morning commute, it happened on the afternoon commute. I was on the bus, hunkered down in my book, when we arrived at one of the stations that had a connection to another line–there is probably a word for this kind of subway station, but I cannot think of it.  The subway was not particularly full and I had a seat–which is something I never have in the morning part of the commute.

As we were leaving Sheppard station, there came a rather loud voice out of the PA system. I will try to remember what they said, but please don’t consider this a quote.

To the gentleman who was holding the doors open. Thank you.  You caused a delay for everyone on this train.  If you are waiting for a friend, next time I suggest you wait on the platform so you won’t hold up everyone.  Thank you for your selfishness.

Wow! Cue the Rocky music.

I think the driver or the attendant (whoever was responsible for the message) was relaying what a lot of people on the train were feeling. Though I often rail against bad customer service, I  felt pretty good that someone stood up to this person’s selfishness.  Way to go.

Seemed perfect to me.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in anger, appreciation, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, commuting, selfishness, subway, TTC and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Perfect Indignation

  1. Margie Swain says:

    I’d say a junction

  2. Sarah Warsi says:

    That’s awesome! Yes, it’s always empowering and liberating to call people out on their BS. Good job, TTC!

  3. Love it! Wish more people spoke up when people are being selfish! (I do but don’t have the benefit of a PA system!)

Leave a Reply

