So, Universe. I’ve got some questions.

universe

How do you respond to life’s little coincidences? I ask this, hoping we can, at least for the time being, set aside the debate as to whether there can be little or big coincidences.

You’re probably wondering where all this is coming from….and frankly, so am I.

On Friday, a good friend explained a life altering choice that was made based on what some would call a coincidence. My friend saw it as a sign that the universe was answering her questions and making it unequivocally clear.

I don’t discount this. I do believe that positive thinking and boldly asking the universe for something works.  I skimmed “the Secret.” and I got some benefit from reading “Eat, Pray, Love.”  I have even witnessed people who could do some amazing things because they were positive–were talking front row centre to sold out concerts kind of amazing.

I am just not sure where I see myself in all of that. Most of my coincidences are small.  I run into my bus crushes at a supermarket far from where they should be.  I find much longed for products on sale…. after I have already bought them (why wasn’t that a chorus in the Alanis Morissette song?) and some other stuff that isn’t coming to mind right now.

Maybe what I am asking is a different question altogether. Am I just not listening to the universe?  Am I missing the message?  Am I tuned into the wrong place?

I hope this post isn’t coming off as whiny. As I compose it in my head it sounds a bit of a cross between utter confusion and ironic belligerence.  Of course, that could be because that is how almost everything sounds in my mind’s ears.

How about you guys? How about the rest of the blogosphere?  Without getting too….. incorrectly philosophical, I would like to know your thoughts.  Are you attuned to the message?  Do you feel confident that you are interpreting the universe?

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in advice, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, atmosphere, coincidence, Omens, opinion, self improvement, unexplainable, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So, Universe. I’ve got some questions.

  1. bgddyjim says:

    In certain 12 step circles they say if you can’t call your higher power God, try for something simpler, like an ashtray (admittedly, this was back when they had ashtrays). Believe it or not, this works for a short time for some people. The problems arise when one asks an ashtray to remove one’s desire to drink. You’d have to be nuts to believe an ashtray could do that…

    Maybe you’re asking the wrong thing for something it can’t give.

    I can ask a hammer to build a house but it’ll just sit there quiet till I pick it up and swing it.

    That sentence is a whole lot deeper than it might read.

  2. Hey, Anthony! I wanted to thank you for the nice comment you left on my blog and that I’m checking out some of your writings!! Very deep thinking. I’ve read your piece and very nice job! But I believe it isn’t the universe that you should be asking, but the Creator of the universe. I don’t know your personal beliefs, and I sure do not want to push anything onto you..but I feel led to do this. So take this as you wish but I share this with love and hope that your questions are put to rest. If you would like to speak about theology/philosophy and the beliefs of the world from a Christian stand point..then please do respond, with questions or anything of the likes! I’m taking a very interesting course of these topics in my schooling. Again thanks for the likes and the comment. Keep writing! Hannah

  3. To me there is no such thing as coincidence. There is nothing in the universe that is ramdom. What varies is the degree to which someone is paying attention to the experiences that are called coincidence. The closer you pay attention the faster lessons and messages are learned.

  4. INFJash says:

    I feel that if you search for meaning in your life you will find it. If I find myself getting caught up in stress, worries, being negative, etc. I am blocking myself from being open to listening to the universe. When that happens I try to refocus on what I want in life, what makes me happy and what makes me feel purposeful. I look for things to be positive about. When I do this I find that I am more open to seeing the path I believe the universe is guiding me on.

    Haha this made me laugh reading what I wrote, but it feels real! I hope this helps. I just started my first blog you can take a look and give me some feedback if you’d like. 🙂 Thanks!

  5. Brittany says:

    So funny you write this, I’ve been so into this kind of stuff lately. Hence my post today! I am a big believer of the universe working in our favor if we are open to it, and that if things go awry perhaps something within us is out of tune.

    • Anthony says:

      I definitely think you can make good things happen if you are positive–and though usually pessimistic, I realized today that I have been incredibly lucky sometimes. I need to focus on those times to learn lessons for today.
      Thanks for commenting Britt. It is always appreciated.

  6. Pingback: So, Universe. I’ve got some questions. | marianaplay

Leave a Reply

