The Great T-shirt Debacle

tshirt 002.JPG

If I am to believe every sitcom I have ever seen, showing up in the same outfit is among the more mortifying things that can ever happen to a woman. I don’t know whether this is true or not, but I find myself in a similar dilemma.

There is a guy at work who has the exact same t-shirt that I do. It is the rather iconic one posted at the top of this page.  Perhaps if it were plain or perhaps if it were less iconic it wouldn’t bother me much.  Perhaps if I didn’t like the shirt as much as I do I could relax about it a little.

My original strategy was to outwait him. I figured if he wore it one day, they I was clear for the week.  Sadly this strategy seemed to fail as he has taken to wearing it multiple times per week.   In fact, on at least one occasion we were both wearing it.  I think I donned a sweater and kept to another part of the building.

I realize how stupid this sounds, but it isn’t a uniform. Also, I am pretty sure we can’t consult each other on our wardrobe, so I had to adopt a new plan.  Typical of me, if one plan didn’t work, I went for the extreme.  I planned on never wearing the shirt to work again.

Have you ever been in this kind of dilemma? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

This week, I realized that he had worn the shirt for the last two days and I decided to chance that he wouldn’t don it for a third consecutive day. My patience was rewarded and I proudly displayed my shirt to my class and a few outside observers who were watching me teach/facilitate.

I wonder if I would care if we were wearing the same shoes? Somehow I doubt it.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, clothes, dilemma, fashion, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Great T-shirt Debacle

  1. Loved this post. This is a big deal. There are whole pages of magazines devoted to “who wore it better”. I specifically mix vintage items into my wardrobe to prevent seeing my outfit. (FYI I did it before Macklemore told everyone else to pop tags.) I know that mimicry is supposed to be a form of flattery, but I have severed friendships with friends who might have over zealously emulated my personal style. One me is enough. 🙂

    • Anthony says:

      This was certainly a bigger deal than I could have realized.
      As for my co-worker, he didn’t mention it to me at all. Either he doesn’t care or he doesn’t read my blog.
      Thanks so much for your comments. I am sure your style stands apart from your friends (severed or not).

  2. capejohn says:

    On the occasion that has happened to me, I compliment him. “Nice shirt.

  3. Brittany says:

    Oh this is too funny! I think it would be somewhat awkward to show up in the same shirt on a regular basis. I do remember when I was younger caring about wearing things multiple times, but now I don’t. However being seen in the same outfit twice is much different than being seen matching someone twice. Or more. HA.

    • Anthony says:

      Knowing how my luck works (or how the universe sometimes conspires against me) I truly believe that if I am not on my guard, it certainly could happen on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

